It’s Official!

photoIt’s official. The jig is up, the cat is out of the bag, and the beans have beans spilled… Samuel and I are expecting a little bean of our own! Over the last week and a half we have been slowly letting our families and close friends know and we have been so blessed to be getting so much love and support from them. We are incredibly lucky to have such wonderful people in our lives. Like many expectant parents we planned to wait until the end of the first trimester to tell everyone. While it was sometimes REALLY difficult to keep our secret, I found myself being absolutely terrified to actually deliver the news! Samuel wanted to get the entire family together and tell everyone at once, but I insisted on telling people individually. Seemed more private to me and I am a private person, plus we were able to see everyone’s individual reactions.

Some people might be a little surprised with this news: as soon as Samuel and I got engaged people started hounding us about kids so I immediately kiboshed the whole topic because it is completely none of anyone’s business what we are doing (or not doing) with our reproductive organs. It took four years for us to get our miracle so the lie turned out to be the best thing we could have done. I could rant about this but maybe that’s for another post. Anyways, Sam understood and went along with it. But, I digress…

photo 1

We wanted to do something fun to tell my mom and sister so Samuel and I painted mugs!  The one for my mom says “Grandma, est. 2015” and my sister’s says “Auntie, est. 2015”. We wrapped them up like gifts and I stuck a copy of my 8 week ultrasound picture inside the mugs just in case there were any questions. 🙂 For everyone else, we made a point of visiting everyone individually so we could tell them in person. Everybody is really happy for us and excited to welcome our little one into the world when he or she gets here.

And the blog… Welcome to my new blog! 😛 I will update it occasional about pregnancy stuff, but I’m really hoping to post things about gardening (I’m just learning!), recipes, a few simple sewing tutorials, baby stuff, and maybe the odd rant. 🙂

4 thoughts on “It’s Official!

  1. Love it . Congratulations you’ll make great parents.
    Carla maybe you should write books .
    Your blog is awsome and so interesting.
    Great way with words.
    Lots of love Auntie Diane .
    Also Uncle Earl.

    Like

  2. I will be following you Carla! Such great news and I am so excited for you and Sam! It seemed like eons ago (almost was, lol) since I got pregnant with my son. Thank you for bringing that feeling of excitement back through your awesome expression!

    Like

Leave a Reply

