The Second Trimester

We’re officially through the second trimester and into the third!! 27 weeks! 6 months down, 3 months to go! 🙂 A lot has happened. We did a bunch of reading and research about pregnancy and birth, worked on getting the baby’s room ready, and giggled over my bulging baby belly moving and jumping around.

Things are coming along perfectly both in our home and with my pregnancy – the baby’s room is about 70% complete, I still don’t really have any pregnancy discomfort or “issues”, and baby is growing right on par! We purchased a few used furniture items for the baby’s room from kijiji and got some really good deals. Also, some of our awesome friends have been kind enough to pass on a few of their old baby things they don’t need any more so we have been really fortunate with all the things we already have for our baby. ❤

Last week we met with our doula who refreshed our knowledge on anatomy (as it relates to pregnancy/birth), taught us all about the different stages of labor and what it feels like for some women and how to identify which stage of labor I am in, gave examples of how different women react to what is happening in their bodies during the various stages, how long it can take, etc. So many things to know about! We borrowed the Hypnobirthing book from her lending library and Samuel and I have been reading it together (I’ll probably write about the book when we finish it) but so far we think it will be really helpful. Next time we meet with our doula we will learn relaxation techniques and birthing positions. I love having a doula and am thrilled that she will be there as we bring our baby into the world.

Things I learned about pregnancy/things people don’t tell you…
The baby can actually kick you in the butt hole (from the inside). So weird. It totally depends on where your placenta is and the position of the baby, but half of the mom’s I’ve mentioned this to have no idea what I’m talking about and the other half are like, “Ya! It’s so weird!”.
Hot feet. SO HOT! No, they aren’t swollen. The rest of my body is not hot, just my feet. I Googled it and it’s a thing that happens to some pregnant women but nobody knows why. At least it’s only occasional for me.
The baby moves ALL THE TIME! Of course, I was expecting to feel movement and I know it’s a good thing, but a break for a few hours would be nice sometimes. Shhhhh…. sleep, baby. Sleeeep… Actually, I love it when the baby moves. ❤

Speaking of movement… our wiggly baby wouldn’t even lay still enough at the 20-week ultrasounds (yes, there were 2 ultrasounds again) to let the ultrasound technician have a peek at his/her organs to make sure they have developed normally. Both times we were also unable to find out if we are having a boy or girl, so I guess it will have to be a surprise! I have a strong preference for gender-neutral things over pink or blue anyways.

Things I’m looking forward to in the third trimester…
More cute maxi dresses, the baby shower, seeing how the baby’s room turns out (my Mom is painting a mural!), getting really good at the relaxation exercises, ice cream on hot days, and finally meeting our baby.

p1hoto

Leave a Reply

