White Chocolate Chai Puffed Wheat Squares

I made up this recipe for my mom. I’ve been working on this year’s Christmas baking and because she is allergic to chocolate I wanted to make sure there will be a good selection of chocolate-free treats for her to enjoy on Christmas Eve.

I love all things chai flavored any time, but around the holidays I crave those sweet spices a little more than usual. I modified a recipe for chocolate puffed what squares that I already had to incorporate the spices and white chocolate. I hope you like this recipe as much as I do!

FullSizeRender

Ingredients:

1/4 cup butter or margarine

1/2 cup brown sugar

1/2 cup corn syrup

1 teaspoon cinnamon

1 teaspoon cardamom

1/2 teaspoon ginger

1/4 teaspoon cloves

1/4 teaspoon black pepper

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

7 cups puffed wheat

3/4 cup white chocolate chips

Instructions:

Pour puffed wheat into a large greased bowl. Measure out white chocolate chips and set aside.

IMG_0711

Combine butter/margarine, brown sugar, corn syrup, and spices in sauce pan and bring to a boil. Add vanilla extract to mixture.

Pour mixture over puffed wheat and stir quickly until puffed wheat is completely coated with mixture. Add in white chocolate chips and stir. Note: Avoid over-mixing the chips with the puffed wheat mixture. It will be very hot and if the chips melt too much the puffed wheat squares might not stick together very well.

Pour immediately into greased pan. Optional: drizzle with melted white chocolate. I mixed my leftover white chocolate chips with a little cream to keep the chocolate soft.

IMG_0712

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

